REPLAY * - From an in-between space to a territory of the Greater Paris

Cergy 2013 / France
Student Workshop
30 August 2013 / 27 September 2013


REPLAY *
From an in-between space to a territory of the Greater Paris : The plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt
* Innovating, understanding, inventing, renewing, regenerating, convincing, daily habits and long-term periods, uses and strategies, investments, places, visions and processes

This large space was used during decades as a territory serving the needs of the metropolis: it was one of the spreading areas for the wastewater of the City of Paris, which resulted in significant pollution causing health risks that are currently being assessed.
There is no obvious way to address this pollution: the environmental challenge is daunting. Social aspects are also significant: Several activities that are not permitted or recognized such as encampments of travellers, scrap yards, dumps, etc.. developed on the Plaine, which is a space that remains mostly unbuilt.

Today, in the framework of the Greater Paris, the elected representatives of this area are promoting a project intending to create a contemporary forest, which would remain an open space, while taking into account issues related to energy (possible biomass production, etc.).
This original project raises many questions: what can be the uses for the new metropolitan forest? what can be the economic model for this recreational area? what kind of leisure activities can be fostered ? can the forest transform the image of the Plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt ? and of course, what can we do with the Plaine while the forest is being planted and grown ?
The mobilization around this project is exceptional: the municipal, sub-regional and regional level, but also the State level are totally committed to work on this project, and are leading together several studies on the site.

The 24 students who will be selected for the workshop will have an additional mission to the ongoing studies: they will have to suggest how an in-between space becomes a part of the Greater Paris, they will try to build a vision for the reconversion of the site considering the different territorial scales, they will try to meet the expectations of the elected representatives while integrating the specific constraints of this extraordinary site. The 2013 session promises to be an adventure in itself, because behind the constraints of the site, the workshop actually calls for anticipating, for trying to imagine new uses for the site and for rethinking the dynamics and balance of the area. At the crossroads of planning, environment and identity issues, the Plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt is in search of a new destiny!

Find here Angelyn Chandler’s article on the blog of Harvard Graduate School of Design

Stéphane Thidet et Marcelline Delbecq were two associated artists accompanying the urban planning workshop on the Plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt by Les Ateliers de Cergy, they’ve made this video from their perception of the territory.

participer

The workshop is open to students of master level minimum and to young professionals under 30. Fluency in English is required. All nationalities and fields of work are welcome: architects, geographers, economists, landscape architects, engineers, artists... Given the topic of this workshop, we particularly encourage sociologists, agronomists and environmentalists to apply.

To apply, simply send a CV, complete the attached form and a personal research work (focusing on the topic of the workshop, applied to another site, preferably in the home country or country of residence of the candidate - The goal of this research work is to show a personal position of the topic prior to the workshop. 8 pages A4 or 4 pages A3 maximum) until May 26th included at the following address: application@ateliers.org.
The results of the selection will be announced early June. Registration fees are of 300 euros and cover educational support, visits, accommodation, some meals, university degree from the University of Cergy-Pontoise. They do not cover transportation costs, which are borne by the participants.

schedule

March 2013 : call for applications
May 26th 2013 : deadline for applications
Beginning of June 2013 : announcement of the selection of participants
Summer 2013 : publication of the context document
August 30th 2013 : arrival of the participants and start of the workshop
September 27th 2013 : end of the workshop

pilot

Pilots: Patrice Berthé and Nicolas Buchoud
Assistant-pilot: Georgia Bagaoui-Meyer
Referees of the Scientific Board of Les Ateliers: Frédérique Vincent, Bertrand Warnier, Maria Basile, Benoît Vernière
Referees of les Ateliers permanent team: Claire Vigé Hélie, Léa Morfoisse, Laïla Haddag

partners

















- Contact

REPLAY* - La plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt

Ile-de-France 2013 / France
Ateliers d'étudiants
30 August 2013 / 27 September 2013


REPLAY *
D’un entre-deux à un territoire du Grand Paris : La plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt
* Innover, comprendre, inventer, renouveler, régénérer, convaincre, quotidien et longue durée, usages et stratégies, investissements, lieux, visions et processus

Le site d’envergure de la Plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt a été utilisé pendant des dizaines d’années comme territoire d’épandage des eaux usées de la Ville de Paris, ce qui a entraîné d’importantes pollutions en lien avec un risque sanitaire en cours d’évaluation. Il n’y a pas de manière évidente de traiter cette pollution : le défi environnemental à relever est de taille. Les aspects sociaux sont également prégnants : espace majoritairement non urbanisé, la Plaine abrite de nombreux usages non reconnus ou autorisés, comme des campements de gens du voyage, des casses automobiles, des dépôts d’ordures, etc.

Aujourd’hui, dans le cadre du Grand Paris, les élus portent pour ce territoire un projet de création d’une forêt contemporaine, qui demeurerait un espace ouvert en prenant en compte les enjeux énergétiques (possible production de biomasse, etc.).
Ce projet qui sort de l’ordinaire soulève de nombreuses questions: quels usages pour cette nouvelle forêt métropolitaine? quel équilibre économique pour cet espace récréatif? quels loisirs y développer? peut-elle transformer l’image de la Plaine? et bien sûr, que prévoir pour la Plaine d’ici à ce que la forêt soit plantée?

L’atelier aura une mission complémentaire aux études en cours : il s’agira de réfléchir à ce qui permet de faire passer un territoire de l’entre-deux à une pièce du Grand Paris, de construire une vision pour ce site en reconversion en considérant les différentes échelles du territoire, de répondre aux attentes des élus tout en intégrant les contraintes particulières de ce lieu hors du commun. La session 2013 promet d’être une aventure forte, car derrière les contraintes du site, l’atelier appelle en réalité à inventer de nouveaux usages, à tenter des expériences, à imaginer et repenser les dynamiques du territoire, et à en déterminer les équilibres. A la croisée des chemins, la Plaine de Pierrelaye est en quête d’une nouvelle destinée!

Retrouvez ici l’article d’Angelyn Chandler, membre du jury international, sur l’atelier Replay, sur le blog de Harvard Graduate School of Design

Stéphane Thidet et Marcelline Delbecq, artistes associés à l’atelier de maîtrise d’oeuvre urbaine "Replay* - D’un entre-deux à un territoire du Grand Paris : La plaine de Pierrelaye-Bessancourt", ont réalisé à partir de leur perception du sujet cette vidéo.

participer

L’atelier est ouvert aux étudiants en fin de parcours (niveau master minimum) et aux jeunes professionnels de moins de 30 ans. La maîtrise de l’anglais est indispensable. Toutes les nationalités et disciplines sont les bienvenues : architectes, urbanistes, géographes, économistes, paysagistes, ingénieurs, artistes… Au vu du sujet de l’atelier, nous encourageons particulièrement les sociologues, agronomes, et environnementalistes à postuler.

Pour postuler, il suffit d’envoyer un CV, la fiche jointe complétée, et un travail personnel (Dossier reprenant le sujet de l’atelier, appliqué à un autre site, de préférence dans le pays d’origine du candidat - ce dossier a pour objectif d’accompagner les candidats dans une réflexion personnelle préalable à l’atelier et doit être réalisé de manière individuelle. Max 8 pages A4 ou 4 A3) jusqu’au 26 mai inclus, à l’adresse suivante : application@ateliers.org. Les résultats de la sélection seront annoncés début juin.

Les frais d’inscription s’élèvent à 300 euros, et couvrent l’encadrement pédagogique, les visites, l’hébergement, certains repas, le diplôme universitaire délivré par l’Université de Cergy-Pontoise. Ils ne couvrent pas les frais de transport, qui sont à la charge des participants.

calendrier

Mars 2013 : diffusion de l’appel à candidature
26 mai 2013 : date limite pour la réception des candidatures
Début juin 2013 : annonce de la sélection des participants
Eté 2013 : publication du document de contexte de l’atelier
30 août 2013 : arrivée des participants et début de l’atelier
27 septembre 2013 : clôture de l’atelier

pilotage

Pilotes: Patrice Berthé et Nicolas Buchoud
Assistant-pilote: Georgia Bagaoui-Meyer
Référents du Conseil d’Orientation Scientifique des Ateliers: Frédérique Vincent, Bertrand Warnier, Maria Basile, Benoît Vernière
Référents de l’équipe permanente des Ateliers: Claire Vigé Hélie, Léa Morfoisse, Laïla Haddag

partenaires

















- Contact